Did I yawn when I was young?

It’s amazing how one’s body changes as it ages.   I used to be able to do laundry, hike eight miles, do grocery shopping and clean my house all in one day.  Yesterday, I did one load of laundry, picked up a few items from the grocery store, made dog food, took a shower, made my bed and I slept two extra hours this morning. I’m still tired.

I know some of the exhaustion comes from having a low hematocrit, hemoglobin and red blood cell count from my kidney disease but this is ridiculous!  Some days are better than others.

I planned to move a small bookshelf from my hallway into my bedroom today.  I had visions of finally weeding out books I haven’t opened in at least a year.  Just thinking about it makes me yawn and want to continue sitting here.

My dog, Dixie forces me to get up 3 – 4 times a day to take her outside for potty time.  Even these excursions are getting shorter.  She gives me a quizzical look after five minutes of walking when I announce, “We are going home.”  She drags her paws behind me, reluctant to go back inside the apartment.  But my mind, ever so active reasons, “Four times at five minutes each time I’m still getting about twenty minutes of exercise a day.  The lies we tell ourselves keep us in comfortable denial.

 

Leave a Reply

