I am, I am, I am, I am

meditation quoteI have been meditating on and off for about two months and it’s been hard getting back into practice.  I set a computer timer for 30 minutes and so far, the longest I’ve been able to sit still is about 20 minutes.   Apparently, according to Zen, 20 minutes a day is doing great but then, I’ve always had grandiose expectations for myself.

Some of my distractions are my dog, Dixie.  As I get into my position and close my eyes I can hear her toenails clicking back and forth on the floor.  She pauses in front of me, yawns (loudly) and starts softly whining.  She is resolved and will click and whine for the entire 30 minutes.

I know this because I’ve tried.   She seems confused that I’m in an upright position with my eyes closed and thinks there is something wrong.  I open my eyes, take her on my lap and recline a bit further back so we both can fit comfortably on the chair.  She settles down and after a few minutes of my eyes being closed, I hurriedly open them again.  In sitting meditation, one’s feet are supposed to be flat on the floor.  To make sure one is grounded, I think.  I gently push Dixie to one side and go on the computer to see if one can meditate while sitting in a recliner with a small dog on one’s lap.  I did find a website that explains any position is ok.   It makes sense to me.  What if I get into an auto accident and have to keep my feet elevated, does that mean I won’t be able to sit in silence?  What if I have bad knees and keeping them in a bent position for 20 – 30 minutes causes them to swell or ache?  Am I prevented from being anxiety-free?   I agree with the logic.  Of course, I can’t find the link to this website to prove to you it’s ok.  You will have to take my word for it.  I reset my timer, close my eyes and continue to meditate.  Today will be a good day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

